I couldn't find any cool picture on laundry, so I'll post this picture on a really handsome cat instead. I think it's sitting in a laundry basket (seriously)

I’ve been idle here for quite some time now, so I thought it’d be a good idea to just continue writing instead of worrying about what to write. I won’t just throw in anything here, but you might get the idea. I’m just gonna write about things that come to my mind that I find interesting and maybe someone might just like it.

So I wanna start out by saying that yesterday I did all my laundry by hand, as I normally do, and it was quite a bunch of clothes (for being washed by hand), and it was a bit intimidating before I started (it wasn’t THAT much, it rather… felt much), but then as usual, I put some music on, put on the headphones and started half dancing and squeezing the crap out of those shirts and pants and underwear and socks!

And hey did I feel good when I was done? I’d just beaten those clothes right back to where they came from, and in 1-2 days I’d be able to wear them again, clean and nice! All right! So I marched up to the third floor (I live in a guest house in Japan with three floors), feeling pretty good, to hang it all on some ropes on the veranda… Did you know that they have that pretty uncomfortable snow mixed rain in Japan as well? Well, they do, and it was falling outside.

The problem with washing by hand is that things don’t tend to be as ‘dry’ as if you’d washed them by machine, so it can be nice to hang them up outside so if some water drips, it ends up on the floor or the veranda floor, or your neighbor’s fallen laundry, but, since I had to hang everything up I had to use my room.

I felt pretty comfortable and secure, hanging that laundry by the window, so when I went to bed I could just lay looking at it until I fall asleep, knowing that I did that laundry and it is DONE.

I wake up, and it’d been dripping some amount of water down to the list in front of the window, and there’d been condension on the metal list above the window as well, so I wiped it up with a small towel and it was cool, and I started feeling good again.

Now this might sound pretty unnecessary; why wouldn’t I just wash my laundry by machine like other people and shut up about it, and I wouldn’t have to worry about dripping water either. Win-win?

Or is it?

When I woke up, and saw my laundry there, and the area around the windows looking a bit like the inside of an aquarium, I felt GOOD. -> I <- had washed my own clothes, and they would be clean because I did. And I did save about 600 yen (about 5 euros, 50 sek) because we don’t have free washing machines here, and you have to tumble everything twice to get it dry. And also, it was fun, dancing to silly Japanese eurobeat pop music and squeezing socks and feeling warm water on my hands (which I protect by wearing dishing gloves since my last laundry session).

And it also feels really great having the feeling that you’ve done something yourself. It’s the same as I feel when eating food that I’ve cooked. It might not always be the best tasting food, but I did it myself, I probably developed some skills without knowing it, and I saved some money not eating out.

But it takes up some of my time, doesn’t it!? YES! But it’s time spent feeling good! And doing things that directly helps me a bit in my future life, pretty much always feels good! If I cook, I’ll probably get better after a while. If  I do my laundry by hand, I can listen to music, get my clothes clean (and some arm exercise) and I can get them clean in the future even if the power is out for some reason. And at the same time I’ll be saving some money. It might not be huge amounts each time, but it adds up!

Also, if you don’t do it yourself, what are you doing then? I find doing laundry and cooking be more valuable to my life than watching tv-shows or playing games! Don’t get me wrong here, I don’t book my friday night up so I’ll be free to do the laundry because it’s just THAT fun, and I like playing games. But you might get the point, that it contributes some value to my life by making me feel good over a longer period of time, rather than just laughing for a couple of minutes and when it’s done, I have to find something else to make me laugh for another few minutes. By doing things that contribute to your life and makes you feel good, you’ll feel better overall. And if you always eat out or do things by machine, you might get some time over, but what are you doing with that time? Are you really just saving time to watch more tv-shows? Or have you actually taken some awesome decisions in your life and started doing things you love and develop skills on your free time?

If you’re saving time so you can watch more tv-shows, I’d like to recommend doing things more by hand. If you’re already developing skills and do things you love, you’ll have time for those too, and it’s always nice with a break! You will also be consuming less!

Feeling good inside (sometimes outside too) is what I think life is about.

Here’s another post to read to feel good! Might not be 100% related, but heck, it’s my blog so I can post it if I want to! : D

Have a GREAT day!

If you find laundry interesting, or just like the other stuff on the blog, then you should definitely subscribe to the blog! And feel free to follow me on twitter and retweet this post! Tweet

