Do weird things! Stand upside down!

Do weird things! Stand upside down!

I’ve been in Japan now for almost 10 months now. I took a trip to Korea for 18 days not long ago.
Since I started to live abroad I’ve started to appreciate lots of things I never even thought of before when I was in my old life with the perspective I had back then. Since I moved away I’ve gotten perspective on my own life, on the world, and insight in many other things. I’ve become interested in improving my self, my way of thinking, my mind, my life, the world and in nature.

I’ve become aware of habits and mindsets that I have that I thought was common in the world even though they’re not, and because of that I’ve begun to appreciate them too. Things my parents told me and taught me when I was younger have suddenly sunk in through the thick layers of my own “perfect ideas” I had when I was little, and I’ve started to see the value in them.

I love that I’ve become aware of these things and I love that I’ve started to appreciate them, and I can’t express well enough the awesome feeling of having lived abroad and get perspective! It’s amazing, and I feel that my life has become so more interesting since I came here!

I’ve started reading books that’re contributing to my life, and not just for fun (that doesn’t mean they’re not fun, I enjoy every second I spend reading them!).

Small things I’ve suddenly become thankful and happy for:

My parents’ teachings:
– I chew with my mouth closed. Not everyone in asia does that, not even many.
– I clean up after me. As we all know, people in the world who cleans up after themselves are pretty rare
– I believe in myself.
– I like myself
– I cover my mouth with the crook of my arm when I sneeze. This is common for people in general, at least in Sweden, but I haven’t spent much thought on it before. In asia people mostly sneeze in the flat of their hands which they later use for, well, everything; opening doors, holding on to something to keep their balance on the train etc.. I’ve heard that it doesn’t matter much in asia because people don’t greet each other with handshakes… unless they greet a foreigner. I feel a bit of terror every time I grab on to something on the train or when I shake hand with someone here. At least I think it helped me to finally stop biting my nails!
– I cook my own food. My teachers have been impressed even by a egg+salad sandwich I made myself. I was embarrassed ^^
– I keep my room and my possessions clean.
– I take time for myself to just be.
– I value myself over mindless work.
– I say no to things I don’t want to do (unless they’re really unavoidable).

Other things:
–  I get filled with joy when I see children playing and often wave and smile at them.
– I often seek eye contact with strangers, just for a moment, and often offer them a smile.
– I try to help others as much as I can.
– I’ve been inspired to live my life.
– I like watching nature.
– I get shivers when I hear about nature friendly energy sources (solar power <3<3) .
– I’ve started sleeping regularly.
–  I’m me.

These are things that came to mind just now, but I feel now that I am way more aware of small things now, that I didn’t spend much thought on when I was still in Sweden, and had no bigger thoughts on life itself.

I’m so happy that I’ve come in contact with the people and blogs that changed my life, and are still changing it!

Love your life! Pay attention to things around you and feel inspired by them! Enjoy life’s moments and don’t settle for something you don’t feel is right!

If you also feel amazed by small things, feel free to subscribe! And also feel free to follow me on twitter and retweet this post! Tweet

