Look how nice this forest is. How could you possibly enjoy it if you were away in thoughts at the same time? You probably wouldn't!

A little more than a week ago I was sitting at a café with a friend, having a talk about ideas and thoughts of life, and he brought up that he’d read an awesome book, which was one of the things that got him started to really think about life and living in a new way. Since he mentioned that it was one of the most important and interesting books he’d ever read, I felt I had to read it.

I’m in the middle of it right now, and it’s hard to express how awesome it is, because I don’t think that I quite understand even myself how great it is yet.

It’s about the present moment. To fully live and understand the thing about the present moment, that everything that happens in your life happens now, and only now, and you will only experience things in the present moment. Not in the future or in the past, those are things in your mind, but all you really will experience is your now. It sounds so simple and so obvious but it’s at the same time so damn hard to actually grasp that your life is, always has been and always will be NOW.

If you think it’s obvious and easy, try to stay focused for just one minute in the present moment, without slipping away with thoughts about the future, the past or some other fantasy. I tell you, it’s pretty darn hard. You would think that it should be the easiest thing in the world to just sit or stand or do anything at all, and at the same time not think about something else, but it’s surprising how much harder it is than you imagined.

Sometimes I think I have grasp of the present moment, but then I find myself thinking of things far away from now, like what I’ll do when school in Japan is over, what I want to do in the future, what I’ve done the last couple of days or even years ago, even though I thought I was fully present at the time. It’s scary, and it’s something I’m trying to pay attention to every day, every moment.

How much time do we waste thinking about things that’ve already happend, or that might happen (but probably won’t, at least not in the way we’re imagining it), instead of focusing on what’s our real lives, that is, the present moment?

(Btw, there’s a fat earthquake going on while I’m writing this (NOW!), I love how it gets my adrenaline pumpin’!)

If you also feel weirded out the idea of the present moment (or maybe you’re already there?), (or are experiencing earthquakes right NOW!), feel free to subscribe! And also feel free to follow me on twitter and retweet this post! Tweet

